Summary

I have created an infographic that has visually illustrated how the eyes work in showing someone’s thinking process, and emotions and how we can look at the eye’s to find these signals through the gazes/gestures that someone may do. I have created my image to show this through the use of multiple elements; the image of a face, multiple sets of eyes which show repetition, arrows, titles, text within grey coloured boxes, typography, colour and composition.

I have used what was taught in class and my own ability to create this image. Which has actually turned out better than I had imagined. Firstly, I had to decide what elements and aspects were most relevant to incorporate into my image, especially as after researching the topic of “how to read eyes” and “what the eyes can tell us”, I found that there was a large amount of information that simply could not fit in an A4 design, which would have resulted in my image being far too overcrowded and messy; and an effective infographic relies more on simplicity. Therefore, I chose the most simple, known and relevant aspects to show (looking left, right, up, down; and gestures such as avoiding eye contact, looking to the sides, shifting eyes and what the pupils can show).

I constructed a face in the center of the image thus making it a focal point. With this face, I made sure that the eyes were what stood out the most which was important as the focus of my design was eyes. The point of doing an entire face, was this then allowed me to use arrows (three on each side) which reflected the direction of the eye movement. I labelled these points which shows the link between looking in one direction and how this can indicate a link between senses and the thought processes in the brain (i.e. the memory side and the creative side). By using the face and arrows to illustrate the meanings of eye direction, this was more effective as it allowed my image to have more simplicity and enabled it to not be too repetitive and crowded if I was instead to add more eyes in to show this instead. Additionally, it gave the image more white space, all of which was aimed to improve the composition and effectiveness. I decided to only use two main colours as I wanted the image to keep some simplicity, and I went for grey and green; the green is the background as I thought it worked nicely as eyes were green also.

In the bottom third of my image, I had a title in the centre, “GESTURES”, which was followed below by four individual eyes titled with a text below them to state what each was illustrating. I purposely aligned the four eyes next to each other to create a repetitive pattern, with slight variations between each eye (thus depicting what the title and text stated, e.g. dilated pupils and what this indicates). My aim with having the eyes and the text was to use an image to illustrate what the text was showing, in order to capture the viewers attention as they are able to see what it is portraying. I aimed to use composition as another main element to increase the effectiveness, the image is split into three sections, and has more white space in the centre which improves the composition by making it not too busy.

Originally, I had aimed to be more creative with typography, however I found that it would be more effective to keep it simpler as my image already had a variety of elements and components, so I went for a more simplistic look; with the title/s and text, especially as the infographic is informative. I did decide to put two larger eyes behind the main title at the top of the page, the aim of this was to make the title look more captivating; as well as again adding focus on the idea of eyes, thus hoping to instantly communicate what the image is about; which is a highly important part of infographics.

Overall, I have created an infographic with the use of multiple elements which have worked together to communicate eyes and the meanings they can have in relation to their direction, how they move, and pupils.

Leave a Reply

